Profiles - basic information

No video selected.

Profiles are pre-configured sets of permissions that can be assigned to roles created in the system.

Profiles are used for defining permission to create, view, edit, and delete records.

Profile settings can be found in System configuration → Permissions → Profiles

profiles1

Adding a new profile

By default, there are 2 profiles in the system - Administrator and Portal. To add a new profile with pre-configured permissions, click the "+ Add record" button in the upper left corner of the screen:

profiles2

You will see the new profile page, where you have to choose a name for it and optionally fill its description. Then, in the "Edit permissions for this profile" table, select the permissions to actions in individual modules that you want the newly created profile to have:

profile11

In addition to general permissions to create, view, edit, and delete records in selected modules, you can also configure permissions for fields and tools. In order to modify these permissions, click the down arrow button  in the "field and tool privileges" column and configure the additional options:

profile3

The module supports mass selection and deselection of permissions - if you click the checkbox at the top of the "Modules" column, you will deselect / select all options for all modules. If you click on the checkbox next to any name of the action, you will deselect / select the permissions for this action for all modules:

profile4

Once you finish configuring the permissions click "Save".

Editing a profile

In order to modify permissions granted to an existing profile, click the edit button  in the last column of the profiles table. The system will display the current permissions for this profile, which you can freely modify:

profile5

Once you finish editing the permissions click "Save". 

Duplicating a profile

Duplicating a profile will allow you to create a profile with similar permissions, without the need to create it from scratch. To duplicate a profile click the duplication icon   in the last column. The system will copy permissions from the selected profile to the new one, which you will them be able to modify according to your needs:

profile6

Once you finish editing the permissions click "Save". 

Removing a profile

To delete the selected profile, click on the trash can icon  visible in the last column of the profile table. The system will display a pop-up window in which you can specify to which of the remaining profiles will inherit the roles:

profile7

Click the "Save" button to delete the profile and transfer roles..


☑ - the permission is active
☐ -  the permission is inactive
⚫ - the field is invisible for the selected profile
🟠 - the selected profile can only view data from this field
🟢 - the selected profile can save data in this field

  • Wednesday, 22 April 2020